Wednesday Webshare: Bad Mages, Divination, and Lack of Angel on Man Action

Mercury Web

Cultural appropriation is rampant in a lot of occult circles, and generally irks me. So have an article on cultural appropriation of Lukumi. What I find interesting is the difference between “innocent” cultural appropriation, and people who blatantly steal and make shit up, I always wonder about the second group.

Non-invisible bank robber caught because his sorcerer for hire didn’t come through. Always investigate people you’re buying your magick from before important service purchases.

Speaking of which, an alleged psychic steals thousands from a client.

I grew up believing that early Christians were a horribly persecuted group, and that their strength of faith sustained them. Hell I was also told how tough it was for modern Christians. Both are bullshit though. The myth of early Christian persecution covers just that.

Polyphanes tackles divination related disorders. Worth considering for those of us who give, or receive divinatory services. Personally I don’t let people get multiple readings from me in a short period unless I know they actually followed through with the advice. If it’s been less than a month, and you haven’t done anything, nothing much has changed, I’m not supporting your need for an illusion of control through knowledge.

Shifting gears on divination. Psyche gives a run down of the top five foundational books on tarot. Those I’ve read I would say are good to work through even if you’re very familiar with the tarot.

Om Mani iPadme Hum. Buddhists and technology. During my chöd training I remember going to a cemetery with my lama and another student. I pull out my pecha, he pulls out an iPad with a stand, with the text as a pdf. The only i is the Pad.

A reader responded to my review of Yoga Body with a small talk countering the text, suggesting there was a posture tradition before the modern error. I didn’t find it as convincing, but that may be just due to the difference in length, but it was worth a read. So give it a once over if your curious about yoga, and the relationship/nonrelationship to posture.

Lastly, because I love me some angels…and I mean love (wink)… Why didn’t female angels have sex with men? Just a short look at that wonderful scene in Genesis, the language, and the physical (so to speak) sex of angels, and their sexuality.

2 Responses to Wednesday Webshare: Bad Mages, Divination, and Lack of Angel on Man Action

  1. Jase says:

    Hi Kalagni,

    I looked at the tarot books. I vote for #2 and #5, both of which I’ve read and found value in.

    I have to say that I never got into 78 Degrees… just skimming is a snooze-fest for me. I believe a person is better off building their own card associations to that level of detail than just studying Ms. Pollack’s. (Presumably that’s what she did to write the book.) I am also reminded of QBL studiers who over-intellectualize the ToL to the point where it’s useless… but that’s just my opinion.🙂

    Levi was also dry for me. I did find some interest once in his book, Letters to a Disciple, which is an interesting read for the tarot student with occult leanings. But I decided it was a bit too fanciful, perhaps. Not unlike some of the thoughts in Fred Gettings’ tarot book which looks for hidden meaning in the shapes of the Marseilles deck artwork.

    For the modern magician, I recommend Tarot and the Magus, which goes into using the Golden Dawn’s Opening of the Key in a more fluid fashion. (Same author has another book that might be a good stepping stone on the element and counting techniques.) It’s not for everyone, but to certain mindsets it will really click.

    Gareth Knight wrote The Magical World of the Tarot, with a more visionary approach to learning tarot; intended for use with the Marseilles deck which doesn’t have the author/artist’s interpretations baked in.

    I have a soft spot for Denning & Phillips’s Tarot & Magic (out of print.)

    If someone was new and only had the budget for one tarot book, I’d suggest Huson from that blog. Also useful as reference for more experienced readers.

    • Kalagni says:

      If I could speak for what I understand is Psyche’s point, though any error in such is obviously mine, I think it’s important to include Levi. Dry, boring, and poorly written, sure, but it’s a text of historical importance. I’d never recommend it to someone learning the cards, but for someone interested in the history of the cards, as it was /the/ original text linking the cards with all the other associations we’re familiar with now, even if they’re different.

      Rachel’s book was actually more historical/academic in the meanings too. She scoured a lot of historical sources to find what the cards had mean, and why they were represented the way the are. So that isn’t something someone could build up from their personal work.

      If I were making a list a for how to use, and how to read the cards, it would probably contain a lot of different texts, but from what I gathered Psyche’s list was more about a historical framing of the cards, rather than a use-based list.

      Denning and Phillip’s work in general I find is under-appreciated, I really wish it was in wider distribution and more people were familiar with it. (I should try to track down the texts I’m missing) I haven’t touched Knight’s text though. I’ll be adding it to my list, but who knows when I’ll get to that…too many books, heh.

Leave a Reply

